Who builds with whom
Seven documented profiles, from a 50 MW community solar fintech to the country's second-largest generator with 4,011 MW. Comparable only if read carefully — and this page is built so they are read carefully.
How to read these figures
Total MW ≠ solar MW. Enel Green Power reports 4,011 MW total, but 3,097 MW of those are hydroelectric. On the total-capacity axis, Enel dwarfs Unergy's 50 MW and the chart says absolutely nothing about community energy. That is why the two figures are always shown separately, never added or swapped.
Empty fields are real gaps. Where the research does not document a figure, the cell reads Not disclosed or Not documented. There are no fill-in estimates. In particular: the founding year of Celsia, Enel, and AES is not stated. The sources give 1962 for the Enel Group (Italy) and 1981 for AES Corporation (USA) — the parent group, not the Colombian entity. Placing "1962" next to Unergy's "2018" would be comparing two things that are not the same, so it is not placed.
Project counts use different bases and each one carries its own annotation. Unergy's "72" are accumulated mini-farms through 2025; Celsia's "20" are C2Energia farms exceeding 8 MW; Erco's "2,179" are projects installed through end of 2024 totaling 265.6 MWp. They are not comparable to each other and the table does not present them as if they were.
All seven, side by side
Sort by any numeric column; filter by declared coverage. Cells without data always sort last
| Operator | Founded | Total MW | Solar MW | Projects | Count basis | Declared coverage | Pricing | Profile |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Unergy | 2018 | 50 | 50 | 72 | Accumulated mini-farms through 2025. The profile also reports "50+ mini-farms"; the trajectory figure is used as it is the most recent and dated. | Nationwide; Antioquia | 13% E.A. to investors, up to 20% with FNCER tax benefits; no upfront cost for users | |
| Celsia Solar | Not disclosed | 1,900 | 355 | 20 | C2Energia solar farms (>8 MW each) totaling 355 MWp. The source also reports 139 rooftop/ground projects for 197.25 MWp under a separate business line. | Valle del Cauca; Antioquia; Tolima; Sucre; Bolivar; Cordoba; Casanare; Cauca | Distributed generation from 1 kWp; 1-6 year financing for 100% of value; PPA for businesses | |
| EPM | Not documented | Not documented | Not documented | Not documented | n/a | Antioquia; Santander; Caribbean Region | Not disclosed | |
| Erco Energia | 2012 | 265.6 | 265.6 | 2,179 | Projects installed through end of 2024 totaling 265.6 MWp. The source also mentions "4,000+ total projects (including smaller ones)" without associated capacity, so the figure traceable to MWp is used. | Tolima; Cesar; Norte de Santander; Cundinamarca; Meta; Antioquia | Not disclosed — 15-year PPAs with independent retailers | |
| Enel Green Power Colombia | Not disclosed | 4,011 | 688 | Not documented | n/a | Cesar; Magdalena; Atlantico; Cundinamarca; Bogota; La Guajira; Bolivar; Huila | Not disclosed — utility-scale generation; CREG-regulated distribution | |
| AES Colombia | Not disclosed | 1,129 | 108 | Not documented | n/a | Boyaca; Meta; Huila; La Guajira | Not disclosed — PPA structures and regulated market | |
| SunColombia / SunCompany | 2012 | 57.6 | 57.6 | Not documented | n/a | Nationwide; La Guajira | Not disclosed |
All seven declare a community focus, which is why that column was omitted: a column where every
row says "yes" conveys no information. What does vary — and is in each profile — is what
"community" means in each case: Unergy operates the country's first regulated energy community under
CREG 101 072; EPM is the grid operator that activated it; Enel and AES declare it from utility-scale generation.
Source: assets/data/operadores.json, derived from Research_Colombian_Operators.md.
Total MW are not solar MW
Enel Green Power reports 4,011 MW, but 3,097 of those are hydroelectric: only 688 MW are solar. Comparing that headline against Unergy's 50 MW says nothing about community energy. That is why the two figures are always shown separately, never added or swapped.
Total and solar, never confused
The first bar in each pair is total capacity; the second is only the solar portion. The distance between the two is what the "4,011 MW" headline hides
Total capacity vs. solar capacity (MW)
EPM does not appear: the research does not document its installed capacity, and a bar at zero would say "zero MW" instead of "we don't know." Of Enel's 4,011 MW, 3,097 MW are hydroelectric. Logarithmic scale was deliberately not applied: the disproportion between Unergy (50 MW) and Enel (4,011 MW) is the finding, not a presentation problem.
Documented solar capacity share
This is not national market share. It is the distribution of the 1,524.2 documented solar MW among these six operators, against a national installed solar capacity that the research itself places at over 4,000 MW (2026). EPM is excluded for lack of data. The national market share figure that is documented is Erco's: 36.4% of the market as the country's largest solar developer — a number not derived from this chart nor consistent with it, because it measures a different thing.
Unergy's trajectory: 4 → 31 → 72
This is the only multi-year numerical sequence documented in the entire research corpus of this project. That is why it is the only chart with a time axis on the site
Accumulated mini-farms. Three data points: 4 (2023), 31 (2024), 72 (2025). No extrapolation to 2026 or beyond — a line continuing past 2025 would be an invention, and the rest of the site avoids time-axis charts for precisely this reason.
Why there are no more time-axis charts on this site
The European research (Netherlands, Denmark, Germany) does not contain a single time series: not one multi-year numerical sequence. Any membership-growth curve or MW-per-year line you might see in material about this project would be fabricated.
What does exist are cross-case comparisons — 139,000 / 8,500 / 9,000 / 2,994 / 474 members; the Dutch technology split of 69% solar, 9% wind, 11% thermal; Middelgrunden's 7.5% return over 8 years — and those are graphed as bars across cases, not as lines over time.
Unergy's trajectory is the exception, and it is shown because it is the exception.
Where the sun is, is an investment decision
The national average irradiation is 4.5 kWh/m2/day, well above Europe's ~3.0. La Guajira reaches 6.0; Choco, 3.5. As a due-diligence benchmark, a site irradiation below 3.5 kWh/m2/day is a red flag that halts the investment process.
Where they operate and where the sun is
Two distinct layers of information, shown separately because they cannot be honestly superimposed
Why the map shows irradiation and not operator coverage
The original design for this page called for "a map of Colombia with each
operator's coverage areas, colored by operator." It cannot be built with what exists.
operadores.json documents coverage as a list of department names — no
coordinates, no polygons, no service-area boundaries. Drawing "coverage areas" would require
inventing geometry, and a pin map would require inventing locations.
So declared coverage goes in the table below, which is exactly the shape of the data, and the map shows what is geolocated and what is decisive for an investor: the solar resource by department. Read them together, not as a single layer.
Solar irradiation by department (kWh/m2/day)
Departments in gray do not have a documented irradiation value in this project: there are 15 of 33, and they are left gray rather than interpolated with a plausible value. The documented national average is 4.5 kWh/m2/day — substantially above the European average (~3.0). La Guajira reaches 6.0; Choco, 3.5. As a due-diligence benchmark: an irradiation below 3.5 kWh/m2/day in the site assessment is a red flag that halts the investment process.
| Department / scope | Irradiation (kWh/m2/day) | Operators with declared coverage | Which ones |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nationwide (declared scope) | 4.5 (average) | 2 | Unergy; SunColombia |
| Caribbean Region (declared scope) | Not documented | 1 | EPM |
| Antioquia | 4.5 | 4 | Unergy; Celsia; EPM; Erco |
| Atlantico | 5.5 | 1 | Enel |
| Bogota | Not documented | 1 | Enel |
| Bolivar | 5.0 | 2 | Celsia; Enel |
| Boyaca | 4.0 | 1 | AES |
| Casanare | Not documented | 1 | Celsia |
| Cauca | 4.2 | 1 | Celsia |
| Cesar | 5.5 | 2 | Erco; Enel |
| Cordoba | Not documented | 1 | Celsia |
| Cundinamarca | 4.2 | 2 | Erco; Enel |
| Huila | 4.5 | 2 | Enel; AES |
| La Guajira | 6.0 | 3 | Enel; AES; SunColombia |
| Magdalena | 5.5 | 1 | Enel |
| Meta | 4.5 | 2 | Erco; AES |
| Norte de Santander | 4.5 | 1 | Erco |
| Santander | 4.8 | 1 | EPM |
| Sucre | Not documented | 1 | Celsia |
| Tolima | 4.5 | 2 | Celsia; Erco |
| Valle del Cauca | 4.5 | 1 | Celsia |
Count derived from the coverage arrays in operadores.json. "Nationwide" and
"Caribbean Region" are scopes declared by the operator itself, not departments, and are
listed as such: counting them within each department would inflate counts with coverage that the
source does not break down. Irradiation comes from irradiacion.json (18 of the 33
departments). Cells without data have no documented value.
From operators
to projects
31 documented projects on the map — including the three without coordinates and the one with exploding batteries.